Consumer Legal Funding
The Consumer Legal Funding Act may be found in Section 436.550 to 436.572 of the Missouri Revised Statutes. The act authorizes the Division of Finance to license and regulate entities engaged in the business of Consumer Legal Funding. Such a licensee may advance money to a person or persons who have a legal claim and resides in Missouri. The advance is paid back when and only when the claim is settled through agreement or court order.
The necessary application, bond form, substantive sections of the act, and instructions may be found listed below. The fee due at application is $550 and covers the application, investigation, and license fee until the following June 30 at which time and annually thereafter another fee of $550 is due.