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January 26, 2021

The Honorable Michael L. Parson. Governor
State Capitol Building

Room 216

Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Re: Report to General Assembly pursuant to section 408.506, RSMo

Dear Governor Parson:

The Division of Finance has. in accordance with section 408.506, RSMo, conducted a
survey by mail of payday lenders operating pursuant to section 408.500. The reporting
timeframe was October 1, 2019 through September 30, 2020. The summary is based on a
82.4% return of surveys by the industry. The attached chart (Exhibit A) details the results of
the survey and also provides historical data for comparison. Some highlights include:

* 580 payday loan licenses were issued during calendar year 2020. Lenders closed and
opened locations throughout the year with 539 being the approximate average number
active at any given time.

* The total number of payday loans made during the reporting period exceeded 301,000.
(For purposes of this survey, a renewal was treated as a separate loan.)

* The average loan was $272.72 and the average interest rate was 414.29%. This would
result in an interest/fee of $43.34 for a 14-day loan.

The Division of Finance accepts all types of consumer complaints, including phone
calls, email, fax, mail, etc. While most of the contacts from citizens were resolved by
explaining the law, the Division did document 2 complaints filed during the reporting period.
Complaints consisted of issues such as reporting to credit agencies, collection tactics, proper
credit of payments, and customers being unable to make payments due to the location being
closed. Most cases were resolved by telephone with the licensee.
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The Division of Finance continues to perform examinations of all payday lenders and
overall compliance with current statutes continues to be monitored. During 2020, 97.8% of
the licensees examined received a satisfactory compliance evaluation. Refunds totaling
over $4,450.00 were ordered. Cease and desist orders are issued in instances of serious non-
compliance. During 2020, one such order was issued.

As section 408.506 RSMo also requires the Division to summarize the payday loan
laws from contiguous states, we conducted a survey of such states’ laws. The results may be
found in Exhibit B attached.

We believe the foregoing satisfies the requirements of section 408.506 RSMo.

Very truly 3

arrett
Commissioner

RB: cg
Enclosures (2)



Payday Lender
General Assembly Report

Exhibit A

January January January January January
2013 2015 2017 2019 2021
Number of Licenses Issued 1,066 984 904 662 580
% Change from previous -19.00% -7.69% -8.13% -27.1% -12.4%
Number of Active Licenses (approx) 1,040 934 898 617 539
% Change from previous -18.43% -10.19% -3.85% -31.3% -12.6%
Number of Loans Made™ 2.43 million 2.34 million 1.87 million 998,776 301,273
% Change from previous -14.13% -3.70% -20.08% -53.4% -69.8%
Average Loan Amount™ $307.56 $306.12 $309.64 $306.49 $272.72
Average Number of Renewals™ 1.6 1.5 1.6 1.6 1.3
Defaulted Loans™ 146,880 122,364 111,342 46,759 13,282
% of Total Loans Made 6.03% 5.23% 5.95% 4.68% 4.41%
Average Annual Percentage Rate
(APR)* 444.61 454.62 451.91 526.74 414.29

*Based on figures provided by industry surveys.




Exhibit B

PAYDAY LOANS IN CONTIGUOUS STATES

Licenses | Maximum Loan Rate / Fees Term Renewals | Complaints
Missouri | 522 as of $500 A loan and all renewals 14 day Limited to 6 During
year-end thereof may not earn more minimum 2020, one
2020 than 75% of the original regarding a
principal in interest and 31 .day licensed
fees. maximum lender, one
regarding an
unlicensed
Internet
lender

Arkansas | Industry is no longer regulated in Arkansas; therefore no information to report.

Kansas 51 $500 Interest: Max of 15% of the 7 -30 days No 2019-4
companies amount of the cash advance
20201
175 Fees: 3% per month of the
branches loan proceeds after the

maturity date

lowa No response to request for information.

Tennessee 771 $500 (including | May not exceed 15% of the | Not more than No 2 for
fee) face amount of the check 31 days calendar
year 2019
Kentucky 391 $500 $15 per 100 14 days No 2019:
21 licensed;

27 unlicensed

2020:
S licensed;
13 unlicensed
Nebraska 64 $500 APR limited to 36% (Ballot | 34 days or less | Not allowed 2019: 1
initiative passed Nov 2020)

2020: 0

Illinois 398 Regulated by $15.50 per $100 per Standard PDL, | 1 renewal up 8in 2020
monthly payment | installment period/month 45 days max; to a total of
—the lower of | (turns out to be approx. Installment 45/180 days
$1000 or 22.5% of | 404%) PDL is 180 indebtedness

gross income days

Oklahoma As of 7/31/2020 all Deferred Deposit Loans ended in Oklahoma; there are currently no licenses in force.




