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February 5, 2019

The Honorable Michael L. Parson, Governor
State Capitol Building

Room 216

Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Re:  Report to General Assembly pursuant to section 408.506, RSMo

Dear Governor Parson:

The Division of Finance has, in accordance with section 408.506, RSMo, conducted a
survey by mail of payday lenders operating pursuant to section 408.500. The reporting
timeframe was October 1, 2017 through September 30, 2018. The summary is based on a
96.3% return of surveys by the industry. The attached chart (Exhibit A) details the results of
the survey and also provides historical data for comparison. Some highlights include:

* 662 payday loan licenses were issued during calendar year 2018. Lenders closed and
opened locations throughout the year with 617 being the approximate average number
active at any given time.

» The total number of payday loans made during the reporting period exceeded 998,000.
(For purposes of this survey, a renewal was treated as a separate loan.)

* The average loan was $306.49 and the average interest rate was 526.74%. This would
result in an interest/fee of $61.92 for a 14-day loan.

The Division of Finance accepts all types of consumer complaints, including phone
calls, email, fax, mail, etc. While most of the contacts from citizens were resolved by
explaining the law, the Division did document 5 complaint files during the reporting period.
Complaints consisted of issues such as checks being deposited early, collection tactics, proper
credit of payments, and customers being unable to make payments due to the location being
closed. Most cases were resolved by telephone with the licensee.
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The Division of Finance continues to perform examinations of all payday lenders and
overall compliance with current statutes continues to be monitored. During 2018, 99.2% of
the licensees examined received a satisfactory compliance evaluation. Refunds totaling
over $11,900 were ordered. Cease and desist orders are issued in instances of serious non-
compliance. During 2018, there were no such orders issued.

As section 408.506 RSMo also requires the Division to summarize the payday loan
laws from contiguous states, we conducted a survey of such states’ laws. The results may be
found in Exhibit B attached.

We believe the foregoing satisfies the requirements of section 408.506 RSMo.

Very truly yours,

H

Lee R. Keith
Commissioner

LRK:cs
Enclosures (2)



Exhibit A

Payday Lender
General Assembly Report
January January January January January
2011 2013 2015 2017 2019
Number of Licenses Issued 1,315 1,066 984 904 662
% Change from previous -15.00% -19.00% -7.69% -8.13% -27.1%
Number of Active Licenses (approx) 1,275 1,040 934 898 617
% Change from previous 1.03% -18.43% -10.19% -3.85% -31.3%
Number of Loans Made™ 2.83 million 2.43 million 2.34 million 1.87 million 998,776
% Change from previous -1.40% -14.13% -3.70% -20.08% -563.4%
Average Loan Amount™ $290.29 $307.56 $306.12 $309.64 306.49
Average Number of Renewals™ 1.7 1.6 1.5 1.6 1.6
Defaulted Loans™ 172,954 146,880 122,364 111,342 46,759
% of Total Loans Made 6.12% 6.03% 5.23% 5.95% 4.68%
Average Annual Percentage Rate
(APR)* 430.68 444.61 454.62 451.91 526.74

*Based on ﬁgﬁres provided by industry surveys.




PAYDAY LOANS IN CONTIGUOUS STATES

Exhibit B

Licenses | Maximum Loan Rate / Fees Term Renewals Complaints
Missouri | 609 as of $500 A loan and all renewals 14 day Limited to 6 During
year-end thereof may not earn more minimum 2018, five
2018 than 75% of the original regarding
principal in interest and 31 day licensed
fees. maximum lenders, two
regarding
unlicensed
Internet
lenders
Arkansas Industry is no longer regulated in Arkansas; therefore no information to report.
Kansas 56 $500 Interest: Max of 15% of the 7 — 30 days No 2018-4
companies amount of the cash advance
/1197 2017-0
branches Fees: 3% per month of the
loan proceeds after the
maturity date
Towa 148 $500 gross $15 on first $100 face of 31 days No 1
check, $10/$100 thereafter
Tennessee No response to request for information
Kentucky 437 $500 $15 per 100 14 days No 1
Nebraska 75 $500 $15 per $100 34 days or less | Not allowed 1in 2018
Illinois 444 Regulated by $15.50 per $100 per Standard PDL, | 1 renewal up 16
monthly payment | installment period/month 45 days max; | to atotal of
—the lower of | (turns out to be approx. Installment 45/180 days
$1000 or 22.5% of | 404%) PDL is 180 indebtedness
gross income days
Oklahoma No response to request for information




